Phil Hicks

Description

I provide support to individuals diagnosed with mild to moderate dementia, brain damage  and mental ill health. 

I help them to build skills and confidence in order to achieve their goals. This might include alleviation of isolation & loneliness, managing at home, living in the community, coping with worries, tackling practical problems.

 

Availability

Monday to Thursday

Charging and Related Information

  • Hours are calculated Mondays to Fridays at £14 per hour and £10 per half hour
  • Mileage is calculated at .45p per mile
  • Saturdays are calculated at £20 per hour and £16 per half hour
  • Bank Holidays and Sundays are calculated at £28 per hour and £20 per half hour

IMPORTANT - Tickets for the Personal Assistant escorting the client on public transport or to an event are at the client's expense.

Expertise

Photography, Gardens

Experience

I have lived experience of mental ill health and had a diagnosis of PTSD, Anxiety and Depression in 2005. I have worked for a Mental Health Charity as a Community Mental Health Support Worker and in this role I have been able to support clients in a person centred way, working alongside them to identify the goals they wish to achieve. This was with the aim of supporting them to work towards recovery and wellbeing in a way that was meaningful to them.

In terms of my previous employment I served in the British Army as a Chef for 10 years and still enjoy cooking today. I am a retired Police Officer of 28 years service most of which was with the Traffic Division and this I feel has given me lived experience of working with and supporting people at times of trauma and stress.

Examples of support I have provided to clients include; working with a homeless gentleman who had been diagnosed with psychosis and alcohol addiction to find accommodation, to live independently and to work towards recovery. The client is now sharing his lived experiences as a peer support worker on a voluntary basis with a view to gaining paid employment as his skill base increases.

I have also supported a client who lives with Dyslexia and Dyscalculia who felt discriminated against by the education system. I supported the client to re enter the education system and together we put together some management plans to ensure that they felt in control of their education with the identified aim of gaining paid employment.

I support those who have a diagnosis of dementia to engage in social activities in the community. examples of this are attending singing groups, taking part in sports such as archery, air rifle shooting, activity groups where arts and crafts etc. I support them in visiting open gardens, garden centres, shopping excursions, going out for coffee. I currently support a gentleman who has a life long hobby of American Model Railways and I support him in building and maintaining his models etc at his direction.

I have several hobbies that I would like to share with client's and these include a love of photography, gardening and being an ex service man I have a passion for military history.

I enjoy my garden and this is where I switch off from the rigors of modern life.

I enjoy visiting beautiful gardens and local places of interest with my camera.

I am a family man and enjoy spending time with my wife, my children and grandchildren.

I enjoy supporting clients in identifying what is meaningful to them and create, promote and maintain a positive relationship with clients, carers and families, GPs, other health professionals.

Maximising, and promoting independence, integrity, dignity, inclusion, and support within the local community.

I feel that by providing support in both the client's home and community towards building skills and confidence in order to achieve their goal. To enable them to feel valued and be included within their local community by continually providing genuine support with honesty, integrity, compassion and fun with respect for dignity, individuality and choice.

If I don't have the knowledge about a particular facet of a client's needs I enjoy researching and learning how I might best be able to support them.

I have been a member of the Support with Confidence scheme for two years and I currently chair the local East Sussex PA Network Meetings for the Bexhill, Hastings and Rother area.

Background

I have worked as a Mental Health Community Support Worker for a local charity, Retired Police Officer 28 years service, Ex Army Chef (10 Years)

I am fully insured


I am a member of the Support with Confidence scheme.

 

Service Details

Locations:
Organisation:
Phil Hicks - Personal Assistant - Building Skills and Confidence For Independent Living
Service Type:
Personal Assistants
Website:
Meals / Food preparation / Shopping:
  • Help with food preparation at home
  • Help with shopping
Accreditation Scheme Membership:
  • Support with Confidence (SWC)

About This Service

When:
  • Weekdays
Age band:
  • Adults 18+
Male or female:
  • Male
Providing household care:
  • Shopping
  • Meal preparation
  • Household admin
  • Help with computers
Providing medical care:
  • Doctors' appointments
  • Hospital/Clinic appointments
Transport:
  • Can provide own transport
  • Full driving licence
  • Provide transport for social occasions/shopping/events/etc
Providing personal care:
  • Assistance getting out and about
  • Medication assistance and prescription collection etc

Accreditation Information

The Support with Confidence scheme is run by East Sussex County Council Trading Standards and Adult Social Care.

All services are vetted and approved on grounds of quality, safety, and training before being approved as a member of the scheme.

Documents

The following documents related to this service are available for download:

This page was last updated on 11 June 2018

Leave feedback

This page was last updated on 11 June 2018

Google Map with search results marked

/Services/GetMapMarkers/2655

Contact Details

Contact Name:
Mr Phil Hicks
Role:
Personal Assistant
Mobile:
07510 319 537
Email:
phil.hicks.pa@uwclub.net